Bugis/Kampong Glam: Melting pot of arts and culture

IMG_1020

I was never, and still am, not good at arts. I mean fine arts, the drawing kind. I can’t paint or sketch to save my life. I was not terrible, but I was never very good. The funny thing was my first ever co-curricular activity in a Singapore school was the art club. I enjoyed crafts immensely, but drawing and painting, let’s just say I tried my best.

But art is a lot more than just painting and drawing. It is small word with loaded meanings. It encompasses a huge field, that also includes performing arts, fashion, textile, jewellery design, graphic design, sculpturing, just to name some.

This shoot is one of the most fun shoots I have had. Not that I didn’t enjoy the others, but this one is a place I have hardly been, completely unfamiliar with, and yet, I felt so at home. Bugis Arab Street Haji Lane area is really the artsy fartsy of Singapore. It is also the melting of pot of cultures, where Arabian perfumes and products are sold along side Indian cuisine, Malay textiles and Chinese clubs and shops. It is frequented by the young, the cool, the artistic, the students, the tourists, and everyone else who stumbles upon this place. It is scintillating with the amalgamation of colours, fragrances, languages and people, melting in the heat of mixing cultures (literally too…).

It is indeed the one area in Singapore where the arts above all else is the common language.

Thank you for reading.

Special thanks to Adenan @ Creative Media Shootz for the photography!

Christine x

IMG_1011

IMG_0934At the Malay Heritage Centre (above)

Top: Montifs (sale £2.50 @Bugis Street, Singapore)
Bottom: Bullhead (sale £5 @Taka Mall, HCM, Vietnam)
Shoes: DMK (retailed £20 @Singapore)
Earrings: Jubilant Jewellery (retailed £4)
Necklace short: Jubilant Jewellery (retailed £15)
Necklace medium: Lovisa (retailed £11)
Necklace long: Unbranded (£2 @Bugis Street, Singapore)
Ring: Lovisa (retailed £11 for a set of 3 rings)

IMG_0996

 Make-up

Maybelline EyeStudio Color Tattoo 24hr Eyeshadow in Permanent Taupe (retailed £4.99)
Benefit Smokin’ Eyes Palette (sale £15 @Ebay)
Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner in Black (retailed £7.99)
Maybelline Volum’ Express The Rocket Mascara (retailed £7.99)
Miracle Apo Tint Blusher in Pinkie Orange (retailed £5 @Cong Quynh Supermarket, Vietnam)
InnisFree Vivid Tint Rouge in No. 3 (retailed £5 @Innisfree Singapore)
Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Coral Reef ( discontinued but sale £1.99 @ FragranceDirect)
 
Let me hear you say:

