Bus stop: Lost in Transition

I must have spent about 1/3 of my life at bus stops. Ok, that’s a huge exaggeration but you get the idea. Apart from the first 2 months of my life in Singapore when I was driven to the then language school by my father, the luxury of being driven around by a car is rare. Even when I was 10 going on 11 in a foreign land, I took the bus alone. The trend continues as I started flying overseas alone when I was 12.

The bus stop is the convenient place where my childhood, teenagehood and adulthood all converged. I used the same bus stop to go to language school at 10, the very same one to go to secondary school, to JC, and finally to find work and work. With each passing year, it changes from being a place of strange unfamiliarity, a place of utter boredom of routine (a combination of 6 years of secondary and junior college), to a place of expectations, hope and comforting regularity.

This shoot is a dedication to those times when I was still finding my way, through the city streets and through life. I use the colour palette of my secondary school uniform (proudly a Crescentian) and give it an identity twist that I can now call my own. I could never ever dream of working with fashion when I was 16, fat and all.

But to quote model Erin Heatherton,

‘Looking back on my childhood, I would say that you should definitelty not judge what you’re going to be when you blossom by what you are when you’re a kid, because, a whole lot changes.’

Thank you for reading. Have a great weekend.

Christine x

Top: ASOS (old sale £16.50)
Bottom: Tailor-made (retailed £25 @Saigon, Vietnam)
Shoes: Anna Nucci (old retailed £15@Singapore)
Bag: Coach (old sale £250)
Hat: Unbranded(retailed £6 @Bugis Street, Singapore)
Earrings: Lovisa (sale £2) 
Brooch on Hat: Vintage (retailed £5 @a charity shop in Edinburgh)

IMG_0030

Make up:
Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation in no. 53 (sale £7.99 @ASOS)
Skin79 Super Plus Hot Pink BB cream (retailed £18 @Watsons Singapore)
Nuxe Brightening BB cream used as under-eye concealer (Sample)
Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer in Soft Beige (retailed £5.49 @ASOS)
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Light (retailed £4.19 @Boots)
Rimmel Stay Matte Powder in Transparent (retailed £3.99)
Sleek Face Contour Kit in Medium (retailed £6.49)
Natural Collection Blusher in Peach Melba (retailed £1.99 @Boots)
Urban Decay The Vice Palette, shades Blitz, Junkie, Anonymous (kindly gifted)
Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner Black (retailed £7.99)
Tony Moly Party Lover Mascara Base (discontinued)
Maybelline Volum’ Express The Rocket Mascara (Sale £5.99 @Boots) 
Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick in Nude Delight (retailed £6.99 @ASOS)
2 thoughts on “Bus stop: Lost in Transition

Let me hear you say:

