I’m a snake and proud of it. But there was time that I wish I was a horse. I had just moved to Singapore from Vietnam and I was a year older than the rest of my classmates in school and that didn’t feel right at all. I was too old, too tall, too different.

Fortunately for me I was not alone. I discovered many more later who were snakes and even dragons. By then, it was not about fitting it. It was about standing out.

This shoot was done after my family’s visitation to my grandparents and shot by my mom. As with most shoots, they were shot by family members. Lunar New Year is about the gathering of families and old friends and new acquaintances alike. It is about following the traditions (eat till you drop, give and take red packets of money, saying happy new year with 2 oranges/watermelons in your hands, eating traditional foods you would not normally bother, meet people you have not met for the whole year…) and also riding the wave of ever-changing and evolving natures of the times.

Just because you didn’t wear red doesn’t mean you didn’t want to wish your relatives good luck or spoil their special day. It just may be that bright shades of pinks and reds aren’t your thing. Fashion is always about looking forward while acknowledging the importance of the past and its influence on the future.

Happy Lunar New Year. Thank you for reading.

Christine x

IMG_0014IMG_0002

Dress: Nische (sale £16 on ASOS), Belt: Unbranded (Saigon Square 2 Vietnam), Bag: Gifted, Earrings: Jubilant Jewellery (forthcoming), Shoes: Unlimited (£5 at vintage shop in Edinburgh)

Make-up
Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua in B20 (retailed £27 at Heathrow), Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer in Soft Beige (retailed £5.49 on ASOS), Collection Lasting Perfect Concealer in Light (retailed £4.19), Max Factor Miracle Touch Creamy Blush in Soft Pink (retailed £6.99), Natural Collection Blushed Cheeks in Peach Melba (retailed £1.99 at Boots), Calvin Klein Delicious Luxury Creme Lipstick in Cosmopolitan (sale £1.99 at FragranceDirect), Shu Uemura Rouge Unlimited Extreme Shine Lipstick in 165 (retailed £19)

Lunar New Year: Red riding Horse

Let me hear you say:

