Backyard garden: Corners of my colours

Backyard gardens are communicative spaces. I met my neighbour for the first time after months of living in a flat in Edinburgh only when I decided to explore the backyard garden. I also met her enormous cat, who also meets and greets his girlfriends in the most bushy-grassy areas of the same space.

In my first year as a university student, I was blessed to live in a hostel that according to Wikipedia, is one of the most beautiful university hostels in the world. The hostel’s backdrop was a dead volcano under the foot of  which the Queen’s official Scottish residence and Her Majesty’s swan lake (a lake with a lot of swans all the time) could also be found. It is a rite of passage for every student to climb Arthur’s Seat (the volcano looks like a seat…) and take plenty of selfies at the top while trying hard not be frozen by the cold gusty winds. Inside the hostel compound I became used to the fact that squirrels are nuisance not cute little grey peeps, and the hostel Cat (Pollock Cat) roams about like a queen, with her very own Facebook page dedicated to her, greeted with adoration and overwhelming excitement when she graces our humble living quarters.

We take all of those beautiful things ( I have to shamefully admit I have never bothered to visit Holyrood Palace or Her Majesty’s Swan Lake) for granted. They are there, just there, all the time, since eons ago, and they will still be there, when we’re gone.

But we will be gone, and the times will inevitably change some if not all of what has been around. That is why I am always in awe and wonders when I walk around Edinburgh, while overcame with a sense of melancholy when I am driven around Singapore town.

This shoot is about treasuring the constants in our lives, our cities, or towns. My apartment’s backyard has stayed pretty much the same for almost 14 years. And for that, it is as dear to me as my home. I continue to meet new acquaintances and made new friends, human and animals alike, as I walk around. There has been changes to accommodate with changing needs of the times, but it has remained the space where my true colours come alive. It is a space of comfort, of creativity, of tranquility, as much as it is a space of communicative change.

 Thank you for reading.

Christine x

IMG_0013

Dress: Tequila Ladies (retailed £10 from Vietnam), Shoes: Sinly Shoes (old sale £27 on BrandAlley),Pearl Necklace: gifted, Bordeaux Red Necklace: Primark (sale £4),  Choker Necklace: old (customised in Vietnam), worn with Ring: from a pushkart in POMO Kaplan Mall ( retailed 3 for £5), Hairband: Primark (sale £0.50), Flower corsage: H&M (retailed £3.99)

Make-up

Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer in Soft Beige (retailed £5.49), Etude House Surprise Stick Concealer in no. 1 (retailed £6.99), Too Faced Jingle All The Way Eye and Cheek Palette (sale £16 on ASOS), KIKO Color Sphere Duo Eyeshadows in 106 (retailed £6.95),  Maybelline Eye Studio Gel Eyeliner Black (retailed £7.99), Maybelline Volum’ Express The Rocket Mascara (Sale £5.99 at Boots), Tony Moly Mascara Base (discontinued), L’Oreal Paris Glamshine Stain Splash in Romy (retailed £7.99)

Let me hear you say:

